10 Reasons Why Young Scientists Should Read (non-scientific) Literature

Put brilliantly

The Drew Lab at Columbia University

This is a guest post by a student in our program Amy Wray (@amykwray) who comes to us from UC Berkeley where she did her senior thesis on the theme of disease ecology in James Joyce’s work. -JAD

 

10 Reasons Why Young Scientists Should Read Literature

 

            There are many reasons why everyone should read literature, but I believe that young scientists in particular can benefit greatly from engaging with literary texts. As an undergraduate I studied both Biology and English, and sometimes people ask me why I chose a seemingly unusual combination. Usually my answer is that I just kept taking classes in the things that I liked, but this response breezes over the true complexities of the matter. There is much more to the story because to me the two things aren’t so different after all, and I think that there are a lot of skills…

View original post 1,610 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Young Adult fiction

Comments

