*Yawn*

Kiera's Quest: Awakenings (Kiera's Quest, #1)Kiera’s Quest: Awakenings by Kristy Brown

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This really wasn’t my sort of book but I guess that I am also not the target audience for Kiera’s Quest .

The Good
This is a typical good versus evil story. It has simple, likeable characters and appropriate levels of language and violence for your 11 to 13 year old reader.

The Bad
My personal taste is against writing in vernacular, especially teen vernacular. Vernacular only works if it is an integral part of the story development or is used to demonstrate that setting. Some Science Fiction novels use it extremely effectively. However, Kiera’s Quest I found the dialogue to be outdated and distracting from the story. This really detracted from my enjoyment as there was a lot of dialogue.

The Verdict
This is a nice, short easy read for tweens but it will most likely not engage older readers.
View all my reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Fantasy

One response to “*Yawn*

  1. Pingback: Monthly wrap up: August | fictitious1

Comments

