These Broken Stars

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

These Broken Stars, co-written by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner is a perfect bridge into science fiction for lovers of paranormal romance and fantasy, like me It is one of those stories where you sit down and think ‘I’ll just finish this chapter’. The next thing you know, three hours and ten chapters have just disappeared. This is just what I needed to read this week – a book I could lose myself in.

Set in a futuristic universe, where cross-dimensional travel is the norm, Lilac, only daughter of the richest man, and Tarver, a decorated soldier, find themselves crashed on a planet. Together they must survive long enough to be rescued.

Kaufman and Spooner affectively use foreshadowing at the beginning of each chapter by flashing forward to Tarver’s interview after the rescue. Surprisingly, this adds to the reader’s desire to keep reading rather than acting as a ‘spoiler’.

There Broken Stars examines, without conclusions, what it means to be you. I wasn’t expecting this existential discussion on ‘who am I?’ while reading the novel. Am I my memories? Am I my body? Am I the combination of both? An interesting twist.

A story of love, class distinction, survival and identity that is well worth a read. Check out the first installment in the Starbound trilogy, These Broken Stars.

View all my reviews

 

4 Comments

Filed under Advance Reading Copy, Young Adult fiction

4 responses to “These Broken Stars

  1. Zoe

    I’m so glad you liked this book as much as did! What a wonderful review! 😀
    ~Zoe @ Zoe Reads

  2. Pingback: Monthly wrap up: August | fictitious1

  3. Pingback: These Broken Stars | Todd DeanTodd Dean

  4. Reblogged this on booksandwonderfulthings and commented:
    I WANT to read this book soooo bad.

Comments

