Science fiction – a growing love

For a long time I believed that I hated science fiction and I wouldn’t even give it a chance. However, after taking on a science fiction project in 2011 as part of my Masters degree, I have started to explore the genre more and more. Guess what I have found? There are some fantastic science fiction stories out there that are a far cry from my stereotypical assumptions of what is science fiction.

I know I’m not the only one. When The Hunger Games was at the height of popularity, many of my students were disgruntled to be informed that The Hunger Games was a science fiction novel. They were happy enough when we studied the subgenre of dystopian fiction because they too did not consider themselves to be science fiction readers.

Some of the great science fiction titles I have read in the last couple of years include:

Juno Of Taris Juno of Taris by Fleur Beale

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1) These Broken Stars by Amie kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Divergent (Divergent, #1) Divergent by Veronica Roth

Delirium (Delirium, #1) Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Partials (Partials, #1) Partials by Dan Wells

Audiobooks
Metatropolis META-tropolis

As you can see, my science fiction tastes aren’t very varied … yet.

Recommend me some of your favourite or most interesting science fiction titles.

Happy reading 🙂
 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Comments

