The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler

The BookstoreThe Bookstore by Deborah Meyler

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

When I saw that the title was The Bookstore I expected that the bookstore involved in the story would either be this living, personification of a store that acts as a character to bring an epiphany for the protagonist; or that the bookstore would be fundamental to story in some quirky or elegant way that enchants the reader. I was sadly mistaken.

When I read the blurb for this book and looked at the well-designed cover, I expected an uplifting and interesting read about a young woman overcoming adversity in New York City. I was sadly mistaken.

Instead, I found that The Bookstore was about a self-absorbed young woman who seemed to be preoccupied with valuing her intellectualism and rejecting wealth and status.

“Customers come in all the time. It’s a good sign, I think, for the intellectual health of the city, at least from this small sampling.”

This book was painful to read. It reminded me of listening to friends and relatives complaining about their lives for a couple of hundred pages. The characters were shallow and underdeveloped. Mitchell was a ridiculous representation of the author’s abhorrence of New York’s upper class elitism.

This book seemed to be all about egotism. I found this quotation to be pretentious as I was reading The Bookstore on my Kindle app:  “But in a bookshop you find things you didn’t know about”, I reply. “It’s much more exciting than Amazon’s ‘customers who bought this book also bought this one.'” Unless Meyler was purposely alienating her audience.

I hope that Meyler truly believed it when she wrote “People write for ego gratification, not money.” because I recommend that you save your money and that you don’t read The Bookstore.

View all my reviews

 

1 Comment

Filed under Advance Reading Copy

One response to “The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler

  1. Pingback: Monthly wrap up: August | fictitious1

Comments

