Bad reviews – to write or not to write?

I have really struggled over the last few days as to whether or not to write a review of a book I just finished. The book was painful to read as the protagonist was completely selfish and woeful.

I knew that I had to rate the book because I hate it when I read something that has an average rating of 4 stars and I find it to be poorly written and painful to read.

The big issue was whether or not to elaborate and if so, in what tone and how much detail. I received the book as an advanced copy and it is a debut novel for the author. I don’t want to hurt her feelings.

In the end, I decided that I want this blog to be representative of how I used to talk to my colleagues and friends about what I was reading. This is why my bad review is a bit of a rant. I used to storm into work and let my friends hear a tirade about the terrible book I was reading or had just finished. In the same vein, I would often skip into work and thrust a book at them with “You really have to read this book! This week so we can talk about it next week”. I have also been known to send an sms or email in the middle of the night with a ‘you must read this now’ recommendations.

How do you handle reviewing books you don’t like?

Please give me your tips and ideas!

Happy reading šŸ™‚

 

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “Bad reviews – to write or not to write?

  1. Thanks for the tips Kitty Cat. I think next time I might try to a bit of a pros and cons list. After all, some of the things that I dislike about a novel might be just what others love. šŸ™‚

  2. I’ve also had the exact same issue!
    A couple of years ago I wouldn’t have had a problem with slagging a book off in a review, but nowadays I’m more wary. But what it all comes down to is your own opinion. Authors send out their work for honest reviews, they should welcome the good and the bad, and if they can’t handle the bad, then they should rethink publishing their work.
    Instead of; ‘I HATE THIS BOOK SO MUCH OMG’, I try my best to go into the details, explaining exactly what bothered me. Authors need to respect that, just as you respect them.
    Good luck. šŸ™‚

Comments

