Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike

Earthbound (Earthbound, #1)Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike
My rating: 3.5 stars

By page 3 of Earthbound I was hooked.
By page 300 I thought it was getting a bit ridiculous.

The opening chapter sets the suspense and draws you into the story with  an intriguing premise. Another thing I really liked about this novel was that it portrayed librarians in a new light. I don’t think there are many stories where the love interest is a library intern.

I was surprised at the novel’s resolution. The story came to what I thought would be the natural cliff-hanging resolution but there were a couple of chapters still to come. I think I’ve been reading too much series fiction because I expect frustrating endings that leave me pining for the next installment. Earthbound had a very satisfying resolution. If it doesn’t turn into a series, I won’t be heartbroken but if it does I look forward to reading about Tavia’s next adventure.

Wings is one of my favourite YA novels, so I had high hopes for Earthbound. While there are several parallels between the plot, characters and themes in both books, Wings seemed to create rounder characters and a more detailed world. Most fans of Wings will enjoy reading Earthbound and will find comfort in the comparisons when they slide into this world with its new challenges and love triangle.

Happy reading!

Love, fate, and power collide in this new series by #1 New York Times best-selling author Aprilynne Pike!

Tavia Michaels is the sole survivor of the plane crash that killed her parents. When she starts to see strange visions of a boy she’s never spoken with in real life, she begins to suspect that there’s much about her past that she isn’t being told. Tavia will soon to discover that she alone holds the key to stopping the Reduciata, an evil society that manipulates global events for its own shadowy purposes. But Tavia must make a choice: to come into her own powers and save the world from the evil Reduciata, or choose free will and a love of her own.

This heart-stopping romance, filled with epic stakes and a centuries-long conspiracy, built on a love triangle like you’ve never seen before, will be available from Razorbill on July 30, 2013.

From http://www.aprilynnepike.com/

1 Comment

Filed under Young Adult fiction

One response to “Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike

  1. Pingback: July wrap-up | fictitious1

Comments

